Application Deadlines 8/14 - 11/14/17 for FEMA PDM and FMA

Pre-Disaster Mitigation and Flood Mitigation Assistance Application Cycle for FY17 

FEMA has posted the Fiscal Year 2017 (FY17) Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) announcements for the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant programs on www.grants.gov. These NOFOs provide an overview of the grant programs and details about the agency's funding priorities and review process.

In addtion FEMA will offer a webinar on the FY17 NOFOs for prospective applicants. This NOFO webinar will be offered twice, and applicants may attend either session:

  • Wednesday, July 19 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
     
  • Thursday, July 20 at 12 pm Eastern Time (11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/nofo/  and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 502515. In addition, 

FEMA will announce webinars covering project application development and applying via the Mitigation eGrants system at a later date. FEMA will open the FY17 application period on August 14, 2017. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https://portal.fema.gov. All applications must be submitted no later than 3 pm Eastern Time on November 14, 2017. 

________________________________________

Program Funding - Flood Mitigation Assistance:

FMA grants are available to implement measures to reduce or eliminate risk of severe repetitive and repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). In FY17, $160 million is available for FMA grants. New in this application cycle is a set-aside of $70 million for community advance assistance and flood mitigation projects. The remainder of the FY17 FMA grants will continue to focus on reducing or eliminating the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures. FEMA will also fund flood hazard mitigation planning as well as technical assistance for applicants who were awarded FMA grant program funds totaling at least $1 million in FY16.

  • Further information is in the NOFO: DHS-17-MT-029-00-99 and FY 2017 FMA Fact Sheet.

  • FMA: $160 million has been obligated to FMA for FY17, with a prioritization of $70 million on flood mitigation projects. I am thrilled to see that FEMA has determined that Advance Assistance funding will be provided to develop potential mitigation projects and acquire the data necessary to create eligible and robust applications in future rounds of funding. Additionally, FMA funding can also be used for floodplain restoration projects that benefit NFIP-insured properties and those communities in good standing with NFIP.

Pre-Disaster Mitigation:

The goal of the PDM grant program is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures, while at the same time reducing reliance on federal funding from Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) disaster declarations. $90 million is available for FY17 PDM grants. FEMA will provide allocations to states and territories which fulfill statutory requirements and will set aside $10 million for federally recognized tribes. The balance of funds will be for the competitive mitigation activities. FEMA’s highest priority for FY17 competitive sub-applications is multi-state/tribal mitigation initiatives. FEMA will select eligible planning and project sub-applications that limit duplication of other HMA programs by prioritizing funding in areas without post-disaster funding available through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP); and projects that cannot be funded by the FMA grant program. As directed by the Congressional appropriations language, FEMA will use the majority of the PDM funding for mitigation projects.

  • Further information is in the NOFO: DHS-17-MT-047-00-99 and FY 2017 PDM Fact Sheet.

  • PDM: Vermont will receive a $575,000 (federal share) set-aside for eligible projects/plans under PDM, in addition to the chance to apply for up to 15% of the PDM funding allocation for competitive projects.

________________________________________

 

Lauren Oates
State Hazard Mitigation Officer
Vermont Emegency Management
Desk: (802) 241-5363
Cell: (802) 798-2084
lauren.oates@vermont.gov